Poets logo

Lovely

One Last Waltz

By ROCK Published 2 months ago β€’ Updated 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
56
Lovely
Photo by Matthew Henry on Unsplash

Held. I wiped tears from your eyes; we played your favourite song sung by Etta James. "At Last", your frail frame unfolded into my strong heart beat, not missing a step we made it almost to the end, before collapsing. Anguish pushed through a slight glimmer in your grey eyes, once again fever swept over you; I wiped your brow with a cool cloth, then like white chocolate in the afternoon sun, you melted away. Our love was a last dance, a promenade of bashful memories, tender as the fledgling free from it's warmth, flightless, featherless, starving, then fed. I longed for one dance more, yet time stole us in a heated breath; at last, you will be, forever lovely.

sad poetryProselove poemsheartbreakFree Verse
56

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 16 days ago

    heartbreaking and gorgeous all at once!! Brilliant work! BRAVO!πŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎ

  • Sandra Matos24 days ago

    I am happy that you stopped by my page to read because that led me to your page, and I got to read these beautiful words. "Your frail frame unfolded into my strong heartbeat." ~~ What gorgeous imagery. I felt this one in my soul.

  • Wow! Such sadness and comfort as it would be an okay way to die on the dance floor with a loved one.❀️Congratulations on top story! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

  • Michelle Liewabout a month ago

    Poignant! We want enduring moments, no matter the circumstance.

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Lovely describes the entire piece. Beauty is in the experience of the knower, as I like to say, and here you demonstrate an ability to reveal your inner experience of it so well in its warmest, tenderest, most fragile way. Rumi or Kahlil Gibran could not have done better, and nod approval from the immortal realms! Subscription reciprocated! I will add this one to my CREATION MYTH! https://vocal.media/poets/creation-myth-m8dm0x8d

  • This article captures the essence of love and loss in a devastating way, and it is extremely heartbreaking yet wonderfully written.

  • Linda Bromleyabout a month ago

    Omgosh this is heartbreaking but also do beautiful

  • Kageno Hoshinoabout a month ago

    Your poem is beautiful

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    You've managed to uplift my spirits while breaking my heart. Brilliant work!

  • Elaine Sihera2 months ago

    Beautifully written and straight to the heart. What talent!

  • olymoolla2 months ago

    You have written so many beautiful stories your story is admirable please visit my vocal id and read a story please

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is beautiful.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    This really is lovely!πŸ₯°

  • Hafiz Riaz Hussain2 months ago

    Good work poem

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • The dance of life...my heart is still recovering. Congrats on this wonderful top story

  • Bishnu Mahto 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story.

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    The song, the dance, the words, the emotion were brilliant and lovely!!! Love it!!!β™₯️β™₯οΈπŸ’• Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Parents are consecrating for us all the day. If we are able to see that, the parents and we, both are lucky.

  • Test2 months ago

    Great writing!

  • Gerard DiLeo2 months ago

    Congrats on Top "forever lovely" Story.

  • Caroline Jane2 months ago

    Is this THE story? It is beautiful. Congratulations. πŸ₯°

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Beautiful, sad and lovely all at the same time

  • Hope Martin2 months ago

    This broke my heart, but filled me with love at the same time. Congrats on top story, it so so deserves it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.