Poets logo

Love Song

by Molly MacDuff

By Molly MacDuffPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

1.

I’ve bought a hundred flowered dresses,

but they don’t leave the closet.

I think that maybe if I sing enough about love,

I’ll actually feel it.

2.

I found a boy in the library,

but he prefers to watch T.V.

I sit next to him and read a book,

while he talks into his headset.

I think I love him.

He’s not so sure.

3.

Library Boy breaks my heart.

Picks some girl named Smirnoff instead.

Says he can’t love me,

that I’m not easy to talk to.

But I’m not the one glued to the screen.

4.

My twin bed is suddenly too large,

my pillow doesn’t hold me like he did,

and I can’t go back to the library.

I don’t know if I’m crying over him

or the late fees.

5.

I walk with my headphones in,

mouthing the words to a Lana Del Ray song

about love in the California desert.

The plot of a romantic comedy

plays again and again in my head.

6.

To the world, I must look ignorant—

dumb grin and wide eyes.

If only they knew about the dresses.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.