Poets logo

Love or Stockholm Syndrome

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
7

Was it love or Stockholm Syndrome

You always kept me home

I never realized it ‘til now

How bad you were for me

I thought I loved you

But now I see

You just had all the power over me

I escaped when I could

Like Odysseus

I slipped away from the slumbering brute

Sometimes through the door

But sometimes I had to shoot

Down the roof I slid

Or sometimes that’s just where I hid

Until I could get away

And here I am today

Trying to do the same

You don’t know

Or realize

That she’s the one

The one that’s kept me in your life

You should be grateful to her

For I would have left you long ago

Like my bare footprints

Melting in the snow

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
7

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Wow! Nice work. Thank you❤️

  • Test8 months ago

    Powerful and intense. So, so well written. Loved it! 🤍

  • Excellent intense words

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Outstanding poem!!! It's loaded with emotions!!! Left some love!!!

  • What we won't suffer--what stories we won't tell ourselves--to protect those we truly love.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.