Poets logo

Love of Self

By Melissa Faith

By Melissa FaithPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

I was born into a family

that didn't understand me

Constantly feeling different

A feeling without

There were moments of clarity,

of similarity

within those that shared

the same name and house

And yet, maybe we all,

they and me,

you and we,

all feel this at some point

or all

in our life

A feeling of distance

between self and other

seeking belonging

understanding

from those we love

and truly the distance

is between self and self

That feeling without

is a feeling within

only remedied by a belonging

only soothed by an understanding

only comforted, eased, whole

with a loving

of self

sad poetry

About the Creator

Melissa Faith

Writing has gifted me so much. It has held me. Brought me solace through suffering. It has built me a bridge back to myself.

I hope within my pages, within my weaving of words, you may also find a gift.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melissa FaithWritten by Melissa Faith

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.