Poets logo

Hallways of My Heart

By Melissa Faith

By Melissa FaithPublished 3 years ago 1 min read

She found a home within herself

In the hallways of her heart

Walked by many before her

A door wide open from the start

She hadn’t really ventured in

But had let many others come through

And it seemed to whisper the words

‘all this time, I was waiting for you’

She found a home within his arms

In the feel of his embrace

Her head rested on his chest

Kisses placed upon her face

She found a home in nature

On the floor beneath the trees

Her feet curled in the grass

Ants crawling up her knees

She was coming to understand

Home isn’t only one place

But many all at once

Within the halls of your heart space

Belongings in corners

And hangings on the wall

Pieces of the people you’ve loved

And places you’ve visited before

There are pieces of home

You leave wherever you go

In the leaves of the trees

In the people you know

And there is a collection of others

Their own homes within you

Decorating the hallways

With all you know and ever knew

inspirational

About the Creator

Melissa Faith

Writing has gifted me so much. It has held me. Brought me solace through suffering. It has built me a bridge back to myself.

I hope within my pages, within my weaving of words, you may also find a gift.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melissa FaithWritten by Melissa Faith

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.