Poets logo

Love of a Pet

A Life Well Lived

By Michele JonesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
16

She came into our lives by chance

Her playfulness charmed my daughter, warmed my husband’s heart

It took me longer, but I agreed.

She made herself at home immediately

Chose me as her person, and claimed space on my chair

Never left, me even when the doorbell rang.

She followed me wherever I went

Her little legs trotted to keep up, smiling, happy to be with me.

Staying behind, not an option.

She got smarter and slept in our bed

Laid diagonal between us, before she curled up between our heads

Slept on my pillow, snoring contentedly.

She found a way to eat with us

Those beautiful eyes, begged under the table, happy for scraps

Loved snacks, chips were her favorite.

She loved riding in the car

Came running when we said car ride, danced while waiting for her leash

Pranced to the car, jumped inside.

She loved watching TV

Her favorite channels, cooking, DIY, or whatever I turned on

Sitting with me, made her happy.

She loved camping

A favorite chair, fun neighbors, bonfire at night, and campfire food

Rode beside me in the golf cart.

She was devoted twelve years

A companion, friend, chair buddy, and faithful to the end

Loved until she took her last breath.

She is missed

Her memory warms my heart, her toys and pictures a smile on my face

A life well lived, forever our Abbey.

sad poetry
16

About the Creator

Michele Jones

Michele Jones is an author whose work explores the darker side of a character's psyche.

When she isn't working, she enjoys spending time with her family, cooking, and doing charity work.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher 2 years ago

    Nice poem and great tribute to your beautiful Abbey.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Awww, what a wonderful tribute to your Abbey :) She had such a sweet face!

  • Wonderful words, hugs for your loss

  • Very sweet. They do have a way of wiggling into our hearts. The photos are so cute -- wondering if those were part of a Humane Society fundraiser.

  • Harmony Kent2 years ago

    A wonderful tribute to a loving pet and companion. Heartfelt!

  • Staci Troilo2 years ago

    Lovely tribute to Abbey. I miss her, too.

  • John Eva2 years ago

    You can't do this to me, I'm not crying, this is just eye sweat. Fantastic poem!

  • I'm so sorry for your loss. This was such a beautiful tribute to Abbey!

  • Sorry for your loss. It's a very compelling poem!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful, beautiful!!! 👏💖😊💕

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Aww. This is beautiful, and so is Abbey. Sorry for your loss.

  • Oh Michele, what a loving tribute to your faithful companion. Beautifully expressed, I felt each word, each memory. "Goodest girl, Abbey" ❤️

  • How quickly they steal our hearts and add true devotion...I loved this so much

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.