Poets logo

Love lives Here Again

After the storm

By Adam EvansonPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Love lives Here Again
Photo by Reiseuhu on Unsplash

The door is ajar, the curtains are drawn, the letterbox flaps in the breeze.

The floor is strewn with letters unopened there’s no sign of a kiss nor keys.

In the debris of my life all tattered and scattered, tearfully torn on the floor. Tired and worn, faded forlorn, call it what you will, I don’t care.

Love doesn’t live here any more.

All I can say at the end of the day is there’s nothing left that I can say. Whatever it was that got in the way,

Love doesn’t live here any more.

Love just got up and walked right on out, in a flood of tears, and a scream and a shout with a promise to leave me for dead.

Love doesn’t live here any more.

Too many broken promises, too many broken dreams, too many lies I believed in, true love just ain’t what it seems.

Love doesn’t live here any more.

Whatever happened to the love we once had,

Lying in each others arms, our hearts were fed.

We made our life and we made our bed.

Where did it all go wrong?

Maybe we loved a little too long

And got bored singing the same old song.

Maybe it’s just that we forgot the words and music to our favourite tune

And that is what led to the rack and the ruin.

And now I sing a mournful song,

The end is here, I could be right, I could be wrong.

For now I am singing out loud and strong

Love doesn’t live here any more……

But the rose in the broken jar by the door looks beautiful in the tearful rain.

And I am sure love will come to live here again, to help to ease the sorrow and pain.

And love will live here for ever, ever, and evermore, again.”

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨8 months ago

    I heard Jimmy Nail as I read this ❤️✨ I think this is one of my favourites of yours so far Ralph. This was so beautifully composed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.