Poets logo

Living Life Free

A Poem For An Alien

By Adam EvansonPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Living Life Free
Photo by Sam Bark on Unsplash

Alien,

This is how I write

The human plight

My way to be

Footloose fancy free

The sun is up

It’s a bright new day

The summer breeze

Blows my blues away

Once again I’m out on the porch

Once again the bird on his perch

I’m writing my life as it passes me by

It’s mum’s birthday and there’s a tear in my eye

And sometimes I wonder do blackbirds cry?

And sometimes I wonder if I could fly

How would I see myself from so high in the sky?

Oh to be a bird high on the wire

Watching other birds fly higher and higher

Perhaps the blackbird would like to be me

If only he could see what I can see

A bird in the sky living life free

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • SRenaS9 months ago

    I loved it! This is just beautifully written! I really loved this line: “ Its mum’s birthday and there is a tear in my eye.” I would really appreciate it if you would read mine also? https://vocal.media/poets/mother-q7n50ee4

  • I love this ❤️✨ It’s very beautiful, especially the blackbird references ✨🕊️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.