Poets logo

Love Like Lightning

Thunderstorms and love are more similar than you think

By Hannah AlexanderPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Love Like Lightning
Photo by Micah Tindell on Unsplash

I've always enjoyed thunderstorms. The booming thunder that either shakes the house, or just purrs in the clouds.

The strike of the lightning bolt that lights up the sky.

The sound of the pouring rain agaist the rooftop, and the windows.

The dark, unceasing clouds that give that gift of rain.

I love to watch the lightning.

It reminds me of love.

It seems crazy, yet it's all I can think about during a thunderstorm. Love is confusing, to say the least. It's also stormy, yet bright as the lightning streaks through the sky. The feeling in my heart that the roll of thunder gives me.

My pulse increases each time that bolt of lightning flashes across the sky.

Love can be dark and cloudy as well.

The feelings of confusion, even anxiety as you wonder what you mean to this person.

If that person will ever notice you. Then a flash of lightning answers that question.

Yes.

The lightning makes itself known, and so will you.

Strange, isn't it?

How some people can be terrified of thunderstorms.

Yet, there are also people who are terrified of love.

Perhaps some of them are the same people, people like me who connect how thunderstorms are like love.

Except, one thing.

They are terrified of it.

I embrace them both.

I realize that both lightning and love can destroy.

I realize that both lightning and love can leave scars.

I realize the both lightning and love are dangerous.

Yet, from a distance, why do they both look so pretty?

Lightning and love may be similar in many ways.

However, they are also different in a lot of ways.

Love can also be the safe embrace of your partner.

Lightning is never safe.

It can't be tamed.

It is wild and free.

The giving of oneself to your partner.

That is love.

The receiving of your partner to yourself.

That is love.

Giving and receiving emotions, gestures, stories, pasts.

"Watching the lightning again I see. I hope you are not thinking too much."

"Well then, you better not get your hopes up, Sugar cube."

"Will you ever stop calling me that? How about Baby instead?"

"Now Sugar," I say as I lean back onto his shoulder, "when have I ever not called you that name?"

"Only when you were mad at me. Now THAT was scary. You actually called me my first name!"

"Yah Sugar cube don't tease me."

I laugh with him as we cuddle into the sheets.

I look at the ring on my left hand. On it, was engraved: "To my love, my lightning streak."

"I love you, Baby."

"And I love you, Sugar cube."

His arms wrap around my waist as he pulls me to him.

Soon soft snores start to come out.

The feeling of my back against his chest soon lulled me to sleep as well.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.