Poets logo

Love is a Game Hearts Play

A poem on the game of Love

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

The Lignum Vitae tree at my window is home to many birds

So, I get my serenade every morning, and I listened to every word

I know his tune

Because when I hear it, my heart would be immune

To pain, but not to the instantaneous happiness

I felt when he first cooed

His tune instigated love

While insulating me with beautiful melodies

He would flap his wings to lure me closer

Then thrills me with a song

Lifting my spirit higher and higher

As I go along

So, this morning I decided to meet my suitor

Who was instigating love to me

I peek out through my window and imitated his tune

He cooed right back to me, my heart swells like a balloon

I ran out to meet him,

He flew down on a limb

Then flapped his wings in welcome

Dancing to his own tune

Then frolic from branch to branch

Singing my favorite song

As I reach out to touch him, she flew into my way

And perched on the limb beside him

Pushing my hand away

He lifts his right-wing and hugged her

And started singing our song

It was when my heart told me, that here I didn’t belong

The songs he sang every morning, wasn’t mine to claim

Because love is a game

Hearts played that ignite many flames.

Image by Annelise Lords

Copyright 2020 by Annelise Lords

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.