Poets logo

Love For Passion

By: Tammy Castleman

By Tammy CastlemanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

At the edge of

Fevered dreams

It came to me again,

That question… the one

That defined who I am,

Kept me up nights,

Haunted me deeply,

Never letting go.

Would I trade love

For passion?

Cold and lonely nights,

Stacked up like the

Memory of sand dollars

In a hand the shade of

Coffee beans, days of

Strife and stifled laughter

Recollections of touch and sun, 

Blending mind, soul and body

Gone…given up for uncertain certainty.

Given up for …love?

Would I trade love for passion?

Could passion come again?

I am not a gambler.

I could lose, as surely as I could win.

And…if I win…what does that

Make me?

At the edge of

Fevered dreams,

It comes to me in fragments,

Like an ancient quilt top…

All I sacrificed to run my

Fingers through the spoils,

To feel the sunlight on my skin,

To know passion once again…

Tulips the color of lipstick stains,

Blowing in the breeze along the

Rails of open porches, sun-baked

Peeling paint, your mouth, the sweetest thing.

Trading moments for years, as the memories

Swirl round, reborn like living entities as

You breathe out and I breathe in,

Blending mystery, magic skin on skin…

And you come to me again,

Passion, but not permanence.

Fleeting, but not forever. Like the

Dream of ancient quilt tops.

The essence of life…

Brief, but beautiful.

In the end, I will bury my face there,

Of this I am certain, breathing in memory

of melding colors and laughter,

Knowing what I’ve done, the choice

I made when I was still quite young,

All I took and all I gave, holding up

One feeble hand against the sun above,

Breathing in and breathing out,

Passion for love.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Tammy Castleman

I have been an avid writer and photographer for most of my life. In terms of true passions, those are mine. What I lack for in memory, I make up for in recorded detail. We are what we leave behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Testabout a year ago

    Great piece, really enjoyed it :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.