Poets logo

Love Finding Its Groove on a Lazy Sunday Night

Poem

By Gregory D. WelchPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Love Finding Its Groove on a Lazy Sunday Night
Photo by Niklas Braun on Unsplash

Let's turn off the devices, flick on the little string of lights, strike a match and get those candles burning

Get out the records babe, pick one and let's put it on the record player, get that good sound rollin' with its static-scratch singing all across the room

I'll be standing there, my hand out with that favorite grin of yours, waiting for you to twirl to me

Whatcha say darlin? Let's keep the main lights off, the room painted in the romance of candle lights, that favorite smile of mine, and the promise of a little love in our little moment

Meet me in the living room, let's make this lazy Sunday something special with a needle on some vinyl and that scratchy sound of good music getting warmed up

I've got some blankets and a few fluffy pillows ready to pile up on the floor, so when we're done dancing we can cuddle up close with your favorite glass of wine

Just a little of you with your head on my chest, and a little of me kissing you gently, swaying to our favorite songs, dancing with the candlelight and the warm amber glow painting the room with a little romance, falling on those pillows, all cuddled up when we've danced all over the room

Let's kiss till the record needs changing, and then keep on kissing anyway, we'll make our own music with the sound of butterfly wings fluttering and heartbeats skipping

Scoot in close babe, let's cuddle up in between dancing and chat quietly in between little smiles you give and grins I give back, letting the candles burn low, painting a little romance across the room

I'll trace my fingers down your arm, finding the sweet songs of our heartbeats singing together like a needle on vinyl

Let's kiss and make our own music, our lips dancing to the soft sound of little laughs and quiet whispers, butterfly wings fluttering and skipped heartbeats

My hands gently caressing your face, your smile causing my smile, and that look you're giving me that says so much and all the feels, you know I'm going to lean back in and kiss you again

I'll run my fingers down your arms like a needle finding its groove on a good record, tracing little shivers, making music for your heart to sing to mine and my heart to sing back

My heart will have its hand out to yours, ready for your heart to twirl to mine, just a little dance tucked in between the butterflies and heartbeats

Little touches, a quiet caressing of your face, me gently touching your lips before I lean in and kiss you softly, that look you give when I do that says so much and all the feels, and the look I give back, let's paint the room with a little romance

Hey babe, let's turn off the gadgets and run a string of lights across the ceiling, strike a match, and light a candle, let's add a little love to this cozy, quiet, lazy Sunday

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Gregory D. Welch

Kentucky poet & scribbler. Inspiring creatives to live a creative lifestyle. Creating with courage, passion, & purpose-fueled growth. Progress over perfection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.