Poets logo

Love At First Slice

A Pantoum Poem

By Victoria WardPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Love At First Slice by Victoria Ward

The room smells of baked bread and warmth,

I can feel the heat of the ovens blooming.

We stand at the counter watching the men cook pizzas,

The sight of the place brings awe to my eyes.

I can feel the heat of the ovens blooming.

My young mind watches as the dough rises.

The sight of the place brings awe to my eyes.

The pizza on the other tables astounds me.

My young mind watches as the dough rises.

The cheese is bubbling so high in the air!

The pizza on the other tables astounds me.

I am a jumping cricket in the grasslands of Africa

The cheese is bubbling so high in the air!

I can see the edges crisp into a soft basket.

I am a jumping cricket in the grasslands of Africa

I can only see a small flame in the oven.

I can see the edges crisp into a soft basket.

The man pulls our pizza out of the brick oven.

I can only see a small flame in the oven.

How did it cook so fast? Who cares!

The man pulls our pizza out of the brick oven.

The pizza is placed on the counter, right in front of me.

How did it cook so fast? Who cares!

It looks like a work of art for my stomach!

The pizza is placed on the counter, right in front of me.

The cheese, sausage, and pepperonis look divine,

It looks like a work of art for my stomach!

I can’t wait to have my first taste of glorious pizza.

The cheese, sausage, and pepperonis look divine,

It’s so hard not to reach my tiny hands to grasp a piece.

I can’t wait to have my first taste of glorious pizza.

I have to wait until we reach a table and say grace.

It’s so hard not to reach my tiny hands to grasp a piece.

My heart is beating loud enough to hear over the noise.

I have to wait until we reach a table and say grace.

Finally, Mom says I can take a small piece to try!

My heart is beating loud enough to hear over the noise.

I reach for another piece of the breadbasket of delight.

Finally, Mom says I can take a small piece to try!

I freeze when the taste breaks my mouth’s surface.

I reach for another piece of the breadbasket of delight.

This divine looking pizza tastes like heaven's food.

I freeze when the taste breaks my mouth’s surface.

Mom asks if I’m okay, because I am starting to cry.

This divine looking pizza tastes like heaven's food.

The cheese, sausage, and pepperoni glow with grease.

Mom asks if I’m okay, because I am starting to cry.

The emotional calm of my first bite of pizza is wonderful.

The cheese, sausage, and pepperoni glow with grease.

I think the pizza is crying with me for its beautiful flavor.

The emotional calm of my first bite of pizza is wonderful.

I have never been happier in my young and childish life.

I think the pizza is crying with me for its beautiful flavor.

The tears, sauce, and grease mingle during the experience,

I have never been happier in my young and childish life.

I see the world in a new- adventurous light.

The tears, sauce, and grease mingle during the experience,

I don’t want to eat anything other than pizza all my life!

I see the world in a new- adventurous light.

My taste buds are singing in joyful harmony!

I don’t want to eat anything other than pizza all my life!

From across the room, I see the smiling faces of my family,

My taste buds are singing in joyful harmony!

The room smells of baked bread and warmth.

childrens poetry
1

About the Creator

Victoria Ward

I am a girl who likes reading, writing, watching, and having fun! I love writing about books, movies, music, games, and anything else that makes me happy.

Come down the rabbit hole with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.