Poets logo

Lost Wanderer

Which Way

By sleepy draftsPublished 2 months ago ā€¢ Updated 2 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
19
photo taken by author

I need to breathe

to let the tension out;

unstick my peanut butter tongue

from the cave's ridged roof of my hollow mouth

open up

wait

for cool water to fall over tentacle pores

trickle down my

dry throat, cracking

parched words.

A desert nut.

I hold my palms up and

thank the mirage

beautiful hallucination

survival song

I whisper,

take me home.

I need more than saltwater lips

and pretty words

my bones ache for rest

for silence in a

rainless storm.

Electric temples

lightning temptress

an ache for spring music

a playlist called summer

tall grass

a clean creek.

Bathe me in light

kiss me with aloe.

Which way is homeward?

Tell me

before I perish.

Stream of Consciousness
19

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books2 months ago

    Amazing poem. This in particular, "unstick my peanut butter tongue / from the cave's ridged roof of my hollow mouth" struck me. You have such a poetic way of painting images. Absolutely amazing!!

  • Holly Pheni2 months ago

    Love it! This is very original.

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Your vivid poem vividly portrays a longing for renewal and solace amidst arid imagery, evoking a poignant plea for guidance and relief. Beautiful!

  • Oooo, peanut butter tongue, saltwater lips and aloe kiss. Those were my favourites! Also, what if only after we perish would we find which way is it? Or what if perishing is the only way? Lol, I don't know what's wrong with me. Loved your poem!

  • I CAN RELATE. GOOD STORY

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    This: "unstick my peanut butter tongue from the cave's ridged roof of my hollow mouth" And this: "I need more than saltwater lips" I like the whole thing, but those parts jumped out at me. Good job!

  • Please do. But if not, let me slip into sweet unconsciousness & pass quickly.

  • Test2 months ago

    Your poem beautifully captures the sensation of being overwhelmed and the longing for relief and renewal.

  • Kodah2 months ago

    Each line felt so important to the piece, loved the flow! ā¤ļø Incredible poem! ā¤ļø

  • Kiss me with aloe is the line that grabbed my attention most. Great work Em. Once again you amaze me my friend!

  • Oneg In The Arctic2 months ago

    Gosh I love how you paint a picture and your comparisons like cmon this is amazing, like freaking peanut butter and electric temples

  • Hayley Matto2 months ago

    Very ethereal, praise to new beginnings/seasons perhaps? Fav lines "I need more than saltwater lips/and pretty words" what a snappp, I love it!! Sticking images and feelings with perfectly sewed together words!! Lovely as always Em!! šŸ’š

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.