Poets logo

Lost in Pigment

A Painter's Internal Quarrel with Colour

By Veronica SmeltzerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Endlessly Gazing, 2020 Iceland

I stare at the canvas before me,

Trying to plan my next stroke.

You see, I am nearly at the end of this painting,

Though it is not the end

at the same time.

An artist will always fret;

Was it enough?

Was it too much?

Will my message or view be acknowledged?

Brush in hand,

The bristles meet paint.

I have made a decision of

Which colour to utilize next.

For this landscape before me is not only a representation

Of the surrounding nature,

But rather a look into my soul.

I choose a dark blue to articulate a fleeting shadow.

Blue is indicative of loyalty, calm, depth, and trust.

I think to myself,

I am the embodiment of blue.

Yet I find my self hovering over my palette once more,

This time drawn to the forest green I had created.

Well, I think to myself,

I am green as well.

My love for nature, of health.

Yet green is renown for jealousy.

For greed.

A double edge sword,

Depending on the context of its use.

One more stroke, and this painting will

Be completed.

I mix together three colours to form one,

A perfect shade for a setting sun:

Yellow, red, and orange.

With this combination,

An ethereal glow is created.

My brush meets the canvas once more.

Now it is complete.

One can’t help help but think though,

If you could look into one’s soul,

Which colours would you find?

An array of the rainbow,

Tied to a person and all their experiences,

Or perhaps a single colour,

Represented through many shades?

I look back at the canvas before me,

And either way,

I will create the masterpiece of my life

With the colours I have.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Smeltzer

A California girl who lived in South Carolina, Iceland and now Oregon.

Amateur photographer and professional soccer player in Iceland.

Instagram: @veronica_smeltzer

Twitter: @VeronicaSmeltz

VSCO: veronicasmeltzer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.