Poets logo

"Toy Dinosaur"

To be alive is beautiful

By Autumn RainPublished about a month ago 1 min read

"Toy Dinosaur"

By Bria Blauvelt

Terrible lizard is what the ancients knew me as.

Of course, the real me couldn’t make any friends.

Year after year, I tried to get close to them.

Dinosaurs are to be feared, they had told me.

In my heart, I started to believe that what they said was true.

No longer did I wish to be real, so I did the only thing I knew to do.

Oh, how I wish we all would realize the power of our words.

Sometimes, the games we play to toy with others truly are absurd.

All that I said and did made me take on falsely given names.

Under the surface, I lost myself as my heart fed me lies.

Revived, once again, I am reminded that to be merely made of plastic is nothing compared to being alive.

sad poetryinspirationalGratitudeFriendshipAcrostic

About the Creator

Autumn Rain

The tongue has the power of life and death and those who love it eat its fruit.

Be kind 💕

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    Great entry.

Autumn RainWritten by Autumn Rain

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.