Poets logo

Lost in OverThought

Perfect Past Time

By Colleen WaltersPublished 13 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
Lost in OverThought
Photo by Frames For Your Heart on Unsplash

Ah, overthinking…

I think that’s a new Superpower of mine.I’m Expert level, analyzing every detail, feeling , breath, sound, word, sigh, color, texture, to overthink how to

Do better, Be better

Be prettier, be smarter

Younger, even though

No amount of thought

Will change my age..

If wishes were horses

I’d have a stable full

And then my

Knight in

Shining armor

Could canter in

On one of

my Wish Horses

And we’d live

happily ever after

But all

Overthinking does is

Magnify my

Deficiencies

And show me

What I’m not.

It doesn’t matter

What I can do,

But what I cannot,

It pokes my brain

Like a bloody thorn

Just to jolt me

What did I do

What did I not do

What did I say

What did I not say

Is it my hair, my eyes

My body, my laugh,

My height, my weight

My personality

My lack of…

I shoulda, coulda

Woulda

Yup, overthinking

Is one of those

Homologous things

That no longer

serves a purpose

But we hang onto it

In addicting torture

Just in case

Someday it does

Something productive

Let me overthink that too

Starting in

3…2…1

Free Verse

About the Creator

Colleen Walters

i’m just a girl in Florida who likes to write things, usually inspired by events and people in my life..Always be you, because you are awesome-

When I grow up, I want to be a kid again.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran12 days ago

    Omgggg, this was so freaking relatable! I overthink everythinggggg

Colleen WaltersWritten by Colleen Walters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.