Poets logo

Lost Boy

We all have a Peter Pan.

By Claire Marie HegstromPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

intrigued

you smile at me with that sparkle in your eye

a kind i’ve never seen before

a mixture of mischief and mystery

almost as quickly as you caught my eye

im pulled in

sucked into the vast dark strangeness that is your beauty

you wait

slowly in the shadows

for my hunger for you to overpower

my cautious brain that always wins

this time is different

take me to a place that nobody knows

a place within myself waiting to be awakened

you tell me it’s dangerous to come with you

luckily for me, i’ve grown out of my fear

out of my fear, and into myself

how silly of me to be enthralled by a boy

who says he will never grow up

luckily for you, i see that you’re wise beyond your years

you’ve relaxed into your being

and i’ve (finally) settled into mine

you can no longer be tied down

and that’s exactly where i want you

free

from every restraint you feel love to be

you fly through adventures

come and go as you please

run, lost boy

as long as it’s always back to me

or better yet

take me with you

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Claire Marie Hegstrom

student of jazz. lover. friend. dog mom. yogi. colorado transplant.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.