Poets logo

Longing to love and be loved

"I do not know if his bones long for mine As mine do his."

By MarriannèPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Longing to love and be loved
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

My heart pumps oxygen around my veins,

Out my nose and into air, energy

Released with each circuit and each new breath

But I do not feel alive, not until I'm with him

And my heart beats so rapidly and profusely

And my smile grows so wide that I swear

It will rip at the very seems of my skin

Then and only then do I feel alive

When he smiles I can't help but feel as though

I'm soaring through the air, just released

From the confines of the ground, and amongst

The clouds and the birds and the stars.

And when we sit on the earth, nicks playing

From the radio our hearts beating along to the

Bass clef, again, I feel as though my organs

May burst free from bone and entangle with his.

I do not know if his bones long for mine

As mine do his. But as long as I live in this fantasy

I can pretend they do, hope they do,

And I can live and be happy, and be whole.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Marriannè

A broke-arse Biochemistry student who likes to dabble in the arts!

Neil Gaiman is my one true love - and by god do I wish I could live inside his brain.

Lots of Love

M xx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.