Poets logo

Locked Out

left in the cold

By Randy BakerPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
image generated by author using Midjourney

You left me like a shotgun blast.

The smoke cleared and our time had passed.

I didn’t see that curve ball coming,

until it hit me dead in the eyes.

I guess I knew we had our problems,

but could think of better ways to solve them.

*

Your words were like an acid drip

as flecks of hate fell from your lips,

reminding me vaguely of someone

who’d said much sweeter things to me.

I wish you were someone I despised.

It’d make it much easier since I’ve realized,

*

you’ve locked me out of your heart and mind.

Didn’t even leave a door or window cracked.

Left me standing outside in an emotional rain.

You’ve made it pretty clear you don’t want me back.

*

Like a one-chapter book,

or a song before the hook;

I was settling into things

while you were plotting your getaway.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧4 months ago

    Ouch! That is a pain many of us have felt. You convey the emotion incredibly well through this heartbreaking poem.

  • Lindsay Sfara4 months ago

    I love how each line feels pointed, like a direct blow to the heart that really helps the reader feel the same pain conveyed in the poem. Beautifully done!

  • This was so poignant and emotional! Loved your poem!

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Beautiful poem! Great work!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I loved this, Randy. The imagery that you use really shows the hurt felt and the shock. An acrimonious ending.

Randy BakerWritten by Randy Baker

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.