Poets logo

Little One

A Cautionary Poem About Useless Arguments

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
2
Little One
Photo by Massimiliano Sarno on Unsplash

It’s gonna be a long cold night

Gazing through my window

At the silvery cold starlight

Velvet dark sky deep as a pit

Comforting moon hiding out, deserting me in time of need

Praying to see my love coming home..

No anger, no shout, Just be safe and whole…

Don’t care if she’s mad.. Just please dear Lord

Let my Little One be fine

Under the dim light of the streetlamp… a shadow? No..

Not a single soul in sight

***************************

Where in the world can my Little One be

Left in a huff, angry at my stupidity

A fight over something silly, I should have just said sorry

Now I’m staring out the window crazy with worry

Where in the night can my love be

Please dear Lord, bring her home safe to me

***************************

Make a cup of coffee and stare at the phone

Fluff a pillow, pull it in close for a hug

Cradle it in my gut, tight, empty, so alone

Helpless queasy feeling like I’m sick with a bug

She’s somewhere in the night, angry, upset and alone

I didn’t have to go overboard on unimportant nonsense, I’m a fool

Shouldn’t have blown out of proportion and lost my cool

***************************

Where in the world can my Little One be

Left in a huff, angry at my stupidity

A fight over something silly, I should have just said sorry

Now I’m staring out the window crazy with worry

Where in the night can my love be

Please dear Lord, bring her home safe to me

*************************** 

Neither of us wanted to start a big free for all

Neither of us in the mood to argue or name call

If only we could learn that not everything has to carry on and on

Not all little arguments must always be explained till dawn

Now she’s out there in the dark, alone in the night

Here I sit by the sparkling tree out of my head with fright

If she walks in the door I won’t yell or berate

I’ll wrap her in my arms and thank the Lord for my fate

***************************

Where in the world can my Little One be

Left in a huff, angry at my stupidity

A fight over something silly, I should have just said sorry

Now I’m staring out the window crazy with worry

Where in the night can my love be

Please dear Lord, bring her home safe to me

***************************

Christmas Eve is nigh and I sit on my couch

Staring at the wall seeing nothing, mind clouded, body in a slouch

Elfin face so clear behind tight pressed lids

Caress those delicate cheekbones so cute

Lovely sparkle in her eyes, a smile crinkles the flawless skin

Lump in my throat, shimmer in my vision, no need for talk… Empty and mute

I’d trade all those presents, rainbow ribbons and bows

For one sound of her voice… Yell, shout, scream or even blows

Only be here, be home safe in my arms

Please dear Lord let there be no harm

***************************

Where in the world can my Little One be

Left in a huff, angry at my stupidity

A fight over something silly, I should have just said sorry

Now I’m staring out the window crazy with worry

Where in the night can my love be

Please dear Lord, bring her home safe to me

***************************

Dog is whining looking at the door

Tail thumps a pattern on the hardwood floor

A sound on the drive outside the house

Afraid to make a noise, rise quiet as a mouse

Strain my ears for the slightest sound

What noise has alerted the hound

Run to the door and fling it wide

Is that my beloved Little One there outside

Unable to speak, barely can see

Heart in my throat I pray for eternity

Always to hold this moment in my thought and mind

As I embrace my beloved Little One, My life I find

***************************

Where in the world can my Little One be

Left in a huff, angry at my stupidity

A fight over something silly, I should have just said sorry

Now I’m staring out the window crazy with worry

Here at home is where my love must be

sad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    More often than not, we tend to say things without thinking and this is what happens. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.