Poets logo

Little Brush Strokes of You

For the Abecedarian Challenge - a plea against over-editing

By L.C. SchäferPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
21
Little Brush Strokes of You
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Ahh, sweetheart, I see you agonise over your draft. Authenticity is scary

Be bold. Be brave enough to suck just enough. Because

Character comes through in some of those little mistakes.

Don't sweat for perfection

Edit, yes but let us taste some little

Flaws. A flavour of you

Give yourself grace to be You,

Humble,

Imperfect.

Just tidy it up a bit, but don't make it sterile

Keep some foibles

Little brush strokes of You left in for effect

Maybe what you think of as mistakes are

Not so bad

Oh, stuff your old English teacher, the dreaded red pen, and "See me".

Perfection is a poison

Quit scrubbing your words of the qualities that make them special

Re-write, sure, but don't let it lose its

Soul. The thing that makes it sing

The stuff that makes it

Unique. Your

Voice,

Whether a whisper or a shout. We have enough

Xeroxes, we need writers with 'nads enough to stand out, suck, blend in.

Yes, correct it tweak it but don't

Zap the heart from it

~o~

Thanks for reading!

This is a submission for the Abecedarian challenge:

inspirational
21

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Teresa Renton3 months ago

    I love the idea of leaving brushstrokes! I’m afraid I’m quite rogue and break many rules, but then either over edit or let perfection kill action 😕

  • John Cox4 months ago

    This is both a fun and encouraging poem. I love it! I read once that Flaubert would agonize over a single paragraph for hours and Oscar Wilde would spend the morning adding a single comma and then work all afternoon taking it out again. Since I am guilty of compulsive over-editing I will try to take your advice to heart.

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    A wonderful reminder :) And I found this so easy to read, the flow was artfully done.

  • Joe O’Connor4 months ago

    Love the message of this one, and the way the words flow like kindly reminders to readers!

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    "Perfection is a poison" This year I'm working hard on correcting my worst habits and overcoming my worst inclinations. That line in particular really spoke to me because I know first hand how true it is! I don't have to imagine the results of it, perfection, the desire for it, is almost as toxic as doing nothing at all. Loved this poem, LC! Wishing you the best in the contest!

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    This is so great! So true!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    TRUTH! absolutely adored this!

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Ooof, this is such a great reminder, written with so much heart. I love the tenderness infused throughout this piece. Also, your abecedarian was seamless - especially the X! Everything flowed so smoothly and this was such an important, uplifting message. My favourite line was, "Perfection is a poison" - it's so, so true. Thank you for writing and sharing this poem! This was such a wonderful read. 💗

  • This is exactlyyyyyyy what I always tell everyone but I never follow it myself, lol! Loved your Abecedarian!

  • Sage counsel, L.C. The ABCs of writing effectively with your own voice. And Xerox was precisely what I was thinking when you mentioned not removing all the brushstrokes.

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    What you say here is spot on, and you did it in a poetic from, and you nailed the X word. It took me over 2 weeks to do an ABC poem and my X word is dodgy. Your output has been incredible.

  • A great message here!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Brilliant!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    I agree, and most of my pieces suck enough to prove it. I truly can't get past correcting the typos, though, when I go back and see them later. It's like a foreign language. So, I guess I write with my own voice, but "wirting whit ,y own vioce" just isn't gonna' cut it. Great job with the abecedarian format and a very real message.

  • Very nice job! I can't stop creating entries for this challenge either!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Love this. Every writer needs their own voice, even if it does suck.

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    "Perfection is poison" yep. This poem was well suited to my current mindset, like a stern reminder that imperfection is okay. :) I love how you used an analogy to blend your words together like a painter filling in the edges of a canvas. ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.