Poets logo

Like Before

On the Floor

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Like Before
Photo by Lasse Møller on Unsplash

Lying on the floor

I cleaned it before

yes, two weeks ago

it’s so worth it, though

I can see new things

the ceiling’s higher

surely that’s a given

I was forgiven

she told me not to

do it again; I

agreed but I did it

again; I couldn’t

desist; it was too

difficult to take

her handbag was hell

I find everything

she said; it’s perfect

for me; don’t touch it

again; of course, I

did; I love her too

much; she’s perfect for

me; I thanked my luck

I thanked her a lot

her bag’s a nightmare

I cleaned, organised

it looks like new; I

sympathise; I could

I don’t; I won’t; I

disagree with her

from the floor, I can

also see her eyes

I could die for her

eyes; the rest of her

too; that’s a given

they looked different

from the floor, her breasts

majestic like breasts

pieces of heaven

falling all over

my being; staying

I could have died there

on that beautiful

dirty floor; I’m still

alive for now; I

don’t know my fate; she’ll

see her bag again

it’s fine; she’ll survive

she knows that I do

it for her love; I

will always love her

she knew it before

she died; I love her

the dirty floor at

night; it’s refreshing

Where is my bag?

sad poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Andrew C McDonald14 days ago

    This is a very nice poem, but it doesn’t follow the challenge requirements of each line being from a separate conversationalist… Person 1 speaks, Person 2 speaks.. Person 1 1 speaks, Person 2 speaks .. and so on in conversational form. But, I like it. Good job of writing.

Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.