Poets logo

Like A Sweepstakes

Well deserved...

By The Vivid DreamerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Like A Sweepstakes
Photo by Benjamin Wedemeyer on Unsplash

For the last three years, I've been rebuilding my life. I've had to start over in ways I didn't have the confidence to think I can do it alone. My heart was crushed and my definition of love distorted, I didn't think that my 'tower moment' in life would help me build a [new] beginning.

And it did.

I accepted my new beginning. My home settings changed. I began attending counseling to help me understand my past traumas. I discovered my love for creating bi-annual vision boards. I have a loving and supportive pet that helped me understand the true meaning of unconditional love and maintaining a healthy relationship. I've learned how compromises are healthy, not submissive ignoring boundaries.

My attraction to dating changed like taste buds. Not for the worse, but for the better. I began enjoying alone time. I fell in love with reading and painting again.

I didn't realize how much of myself I gave away until I realized I was slowly beginning to love myself - how I always wanted to receive it from someone else.

I didn't have to look and seek unconditional love anymore. I've discovered love within myself.

There's no freer feeling than understanding how to sort out life.

We fail to realize taking on someone else's trauma doesn't lessen their issues. It adds to yours.

Living your life for yourself has an identical feeling as winning a sweepstake. You're happy you're free. You're forgiving of your vices while embracing your new beginning. You feel living your best life is within reach.

-------

What are you focused on?

Are you doing you now?

I see you smilin' more.

Glowin' through what you been through.

Ya parents should be proud.

It's a new chapter now.

Well deserved.

You've earned a badge

For being you

And not chasing clout.

No longer surrounded by clowns.

This new place is the waiting room,

Your intake

To you seeyin'

To believin'

I could live life,

Like a sweepstakes...

------------

Have you ever won anything in life?

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

The Vivid Dreamer

Awkward to love. Quick to give. My reality is within my words. Esteemed Queen saved me. My life is a bestseller.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.