Poets logo

The Love Story

You helped me discover myself...

By The Vivid DreamerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Love Story
Photo by Kevar Whilby on Unsplash

This is before I knew

what I know

now

back then...

A lil' ova bite

and a smile

flexing his muscles

while washing dishes

where we met at work...

He was a caramel skin, brown-eyed,

yet discreetly shapeshifting as a sheep...

WOW!

A young lonely girl

was so impressed,

not knowing behind the

time clock

his life was in

distress.

Eight years

out 'da pen,

but his PO had him

stressed.

Out of town,

no one around

all my insecurities

I confessed to him.

Laid chest to chest

with him.

Willing to put my education

to da side

for him.

Just to find he's

shady as a shadow

and bendable as a brim.

The enemy lived inside

of him.

Beyond all his nasty words,

verbs, actions, exes,

and failed justice's

so-called "protection".

I discovered my strength

and

began to live.

Learned to release.

Learned resilience.

Released my fears...

When love comes around

the Universe knows when new seasons

are to embark.

Just because you see new seasons

coming

doesn't mean you know

where the new season is coming from.

I waited for confirmation.

Our love story

is a closed season.

Finding how to love me

was the reason for

our love story

and our

end.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

The Vivid Dreamer

Awkward to love. Quick to give. My reality is within my words. Esteemed Queen saved me. My life is a bestseller.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.