Poets logo

Light and Dark

Why do I feel different!

By Rebecca ClarksonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that was not my own…

As I contorted it was the story of light and dark that was shown.

They were always living in complete harmony, it’s true

Then one day they wondered what it would be like to be split into two.

The hugged each other and said their goodbyes

Their hearts full of wonder, that no one denies.

Light lived in creative lightness, no darkness around.

Darkness was left creating yet no light was to be found.

Yet in the middle was their separation, a big hole at best.

This hole of separation would put them to the test.

Darkness missed light and light without darkness, couldn’t sleep.

Yet coming back together, it was a task quite deep.

They both created spaces with races as such.

However in their inhabitants confusion a war did erupt.

Dark and light could see there were stories that were told.

About what created separation, their inhabitants did mold.

Each one blamed the other, created stories of fear.

Then fought with each other for eons of years.

Light and dark waited to see if they’d wake.

To remember the love of Union what it would take.

How can this oneness be explained to their masses.

This is not what they teach in their everyday classes.

There was one thing the inhabitants worshipped and did love.

Their divine creator, the one from above.

Light and darkness saw a way to return.

To set fire to story to watch it all burn.

First they joined the elements, in complete harmony.

Then they showed night and day, their perfect symphony.

The stars did adorn the night sky to admire.

And who didn’t like a bit of dark when the sun burned like fire.

They left little traces, of their perfection and flair.

For all that did notice, it could be seen everywhere.

To make love their focus, the journey, their choice.

To sing it out loud, the best use of voice.

We all danced together creating harmonies around.

The uni-verse of wonder, a cacophony of sound.

The inhabitants listened, slowly they began to see.

It was light and dark coming back together causing luminosity.

As I contorted it was the story of light and dark that was shown.

The mirror showed a reflection that was also my own.

Why do I feel different, in all that is me.

What was in the mirror’s reflection: what did I see.

I’ll lay there for hours talking to the stars.

And dancing along to music with Jupiter and Mars.

A flower can hold my interest as it glistens in the sun.

These are the moments I am nothing, I am all, I am One.

I cry at a moment, I can shout out in glee.

I tell stories in poetry, I am all that is me.

Why do I feel different, and carry on alone.

Cause I feel my heart here, I am whole, i am home.

Is it because I dance all in positivity.

No my love, on the very contrary.

You see I often weep in sadness, or feel the loss of love.

Other times I sing with angels from the heavens above.

Sometimes I think and ponder and incessantly reflect.

Was I open, loving every action, word, I dissect.

Then i sit there in wonder and watch with reverie.

That when I surrender with nature, I am all I can be.

Nothing needed, nothing required yet everything to be found.

In each moment the highs and lows, love goes round and round.

Why do I feel different, cause all these things you see.

I feel different as it’s these moments I am free.

The mirror showed a reflection that was not my own.

As I contorted it was the story of life that was shown.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Clarkson

interests: sociology, philosophy: psychotherapy: anthropology, astrology, astronomy, history, geography, spirituality, theology, nature, beauty, photography, art, music, creating, writing, researching and FEELING IT ALL!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.