Poets logo

Lifting Her Up

By Waters

By K. WaterssPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Your patterns are as obvious as the looks on your faces

I doubt you as much as you doubt yourself and if you know anything about yourself then you know that's a lot

The negativity is as honest as the day I met you which is as clear to me now as it was then

Faded

Into lust of a simplicity that I no longer have the luxury of overlooking you're here

right in

front

of me

And I can't seem to try and turn back or turn around without bumping into another reason why I owe to more than myself to try and look past you and into myself and into what matters because you are a whole MESS that i never had intentions of cleaning up

I tell you things

little things about myself because I figure since you are around me I want to be able to say I gave him the CHANCE to get to know me

I say little things and then you quickly make me feel like I shouldn't have said anything at all

I wish I could leave you alone so we don't do anything

At All

Not talk

Not lie to each other and then false smile like it's over and walk past each other with a million things clashing at the same time that being in the same room as you make me feel like I'm suffocating

Then I remember

There is something greater than you and greater than me that needs us to try and make something work

Then I remember when two people in my life didn't even try to make something work

And maybe that's my fault for wanting better

For wanting us to BE BETTER

maybe that's my downfall

but as I'm falling down

All I'm hoping is that she's being lifted up

and then it's Okay

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

K. Waterss

Poetry has been my life for as long as I can remember. It's the only other thing besides my daughter that makes sense to me most days.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.