Poets logo

Life's a Masquerade

People hide behind masks everyday!!

By David ThomasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

A wise gospel singer sang these very thought provoking verses that went like this. “Life’s a masquerade filled with so many faces, faces that aren’t so real, hearts that really cannot feel. It is my desire to be more like you each day and that is what I pray for, but there is something that is leading me further astray.”

And all I see is fake faces and people who are still lying to the races.

People that are not being honest or transparent about how they are really feeling.

It’s like they wake up, get dressed and put on a face mask in order to cover up who they are on the inside.

So why should I come clean or stop hiding my identity?

What gives me the right to show people my true face and show them my true feelings about being in this place.

It’s like Kendrick Lamar said, “From a distance it’s hard to see who’s a Christian, Damn!!!.”

I am not sure there is a way to express who I am and still keep being my true authentic self.

But what I will not do is be too prideful when it comes to asking for help.

And I will continue to show people my true face and run this race everyday.

I will do whatever it takes to look at the spirit behind the person, because “Life's like a Masquerade!!!.”

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

David Thomas

I am a 34 year old author/spoken word artist who has written 2 poetry books and an autobiography. I love to write poems that are well versed and talk about everything that is going in society. I will putting some poetry on here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.