Poets logo

Life at Sea

never ending thoughts

By Yael SpodekPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Life at Sea
Photo by Joseph Barrientos on Unsplash

The salty fresh air breezes through my hair

A cold drink sits perfectly in my hand,

as beads of water drip down the side

People are rushing in and out of the pools,

packed like sardines

The sound of little kids ecstatic screeching,

rings through my ears

And everything seems perfect.

What could be better than life at sea,

with no view of land for miles on end,

my body absorbing the scorching heat of the sun,

not a single thought in mind

That would be nice, wouldn’t it?

No worries, a clear mind.

But,

it’s impractical -

at least for people like me

With a million thoughts

running through my head,

at the speed of light,

unable to pick out

and

process a single one

Worrying about

every possible thing

that could,

and will,

go wrong,

let’s be real -

something always goes wrong.

and,

in a split second,

the skies go from

baby blue

to

cloudy stormy gray

my body shivers,

preparing for

what’s to come

the hot ocean air

turns

cold and windy

and,

it’s as if,

the whole atmosphere

is aware and awake

the seagulls scatter,

the dolphins hold their breath,

and the fish hide in their coral

should i be scared?

should i try and protect myself?

but only i scare me,

and,

i can’t protect myself from me.

what can the world throw at me,

that i wouldn’t see coming?

what can harm me more,

than my own thoughts?

how much more damage

can a category 5 cause -

compared to what i can do

if i let go of control.

so i stay on the outer deck,

looking out at the vastness of the sea

wishing this was home.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.