Poets logo

Are you there?

Can you hear me?

By Yael SpodekPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Are you there?
Photo by Michael Kroul on Unsplash

I call out your name

I hear no reply

I beg for your comfort,

to hold my hand,

show me the ropes

I desire your love,

to feel constantly connected,

like mother and son

I plead for your mercy,

to shower me with rain,

a clean slate

I want your affection,

to lovingly reminisce,

of forehead kisses

I need you to answer.

I call out your name

I hear no reply.

I know you comfort me,

my tears flow,

like a river

I know you love me,

my frazzled heart,

skips a beat

I know you show me mercy

the bright and

luminous sun

rises

I know you’re affectionate

the moonlight

glistens on

my wet,

streaked face.

I need you to hear me.

I call our your name

I hear no reply.

Will the waves stand still if i’m no longer here

Will the grass stay the same when i can’t cut it

Will the clouds disappear just like i did

or,

Will the waves crash ferociously invoking fear

Will the grass be an unmanageable jungle mess

Will the clouds conceal all the sun has to offer

i need you to listen.

i call out your name

i hear no reply.

Do you know how i’m struggling?

Do you know how i cry?

Do you know how much i want you?

Do you know how much i hate me?

and do you even care?

i need you to answer.

i call out your name

i know you're not there.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.