Poets logo

Lies

I see your heart not the facade you portray, yet I'm starting to wonder if I can believe anything you say

By Cassey AguiarPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
4
Lies
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

All of your promises are nothing but lies

With each one you break my trust slowly dies

I give my trust freely, it's not hard earn

You're teaching me otherwise, you're so hard to discern

I feel like a fool because you played me so well

I long to know the truth but I know you will never tell

You have to be hurting and angry with yourself

So you try to numb it all so you can't feel anything else

This is not a way to live, you need to make a decision

In order to do that you need a future with a vision

When you have someone who cares and overlooks your faults

You should consider their feelings before they no longer care at all

Who taught you that you had to use those you love

In order to barely get by and keep your head above

I see your heart not facade you portray

But it's getting hard for me to believe a single word you say

You had me real good I believed anything you said

Turns out I'm just a fool, we should've just stayed friends

Now you have me tangled in a web of lies and deceit

You know I hate a liar, but that's what you've made me

I thought what I felt for you was incredibly real

I never lied to you when I said how I feel

I told you the truth even if it hurt

You clung to your lies like they were you're favorite shirt

You're playing a big game that you're not going to win

I know that you're lost but you need to let someone in

I imagine it starts to get terribly exhausting

To put on this show while everyone is watching

Day after day you just assume the same role

Not even realizing your actions are poisoning your soul

I know you're still in there, I know there is still hope

First you have to find a way to learn how to cope

I know that all of your actions stem from your pain

If you keep doing this what do you expect to gain

You can't just keep hurting people nobody deserves this

So many people care about you that you are gonna miss

Even the most loyal person can only be hurt so much

Before their feelings change and they no longer crave your touch

My loyalty dies here, I've gave you too much of me

I obviously wasn't enough or couldn't be who you wanted me to be

I hope you figure out a way to open up your heart

Instead of going through the motions, pretending to play a part

I pray for your health, your mind and your heart

But in order to make a change, first you have to make a start

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Cassey Aguiar

Hello fellow creators! My name is Cassey and I've always enjoyed writing! I never thought I was really that good, buy Vocal has played a very important role on my road to becoming a writer. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.