Poets logo

Library Lover

Learn to love again.

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Library Lover
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

My love,

Is like the coolest breeze and the heaviest drought,

Intensity of extremes all year round,

Passion I found,

In the beauty of Ithaca at prestige Cornell

Eight p.m., first struck of the clock tower bell.

.

In the wake of a restless Friday morning,

I recognize the gait of your walk, assured striding.

And I’m trying,

Trying to remember why I’m sitting below

The fern plant, reading a periodical.

.

I heard a call beneath my layered persona,

Gentler than flowers here blooming nonstop,

Thousands never enough,

My call for something stronger than my clench

On things I can't control, but learn to love again.

.

When the big clock chimes I know it's time,

We wait where hungry students form a line,

Feeling better than fine.

Whispering humour and flashing grins,

In a quiet, mellow setting.

.

It’s uneasy for them to see him inching closer,

Dubbed the uncommon library lover,

My study partner,

In one tap of the shoulder from behind,

Filling anxiety with something of life,

So the years with my head in the books,

Is worth your legs wrapped where my feet stood,

A different kind of love.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you would like to support my writing, please consider liking my story, subscribing, pledging and/or tipping. Thank you for reading!

love poems
5

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.