Poets logo

Liberty

by Isa Ottoni

By Isa OttoniPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

I was a mother once, free in times past, when I first walked this new world. I was worshipped then, my light a path to freedom, my words weapons for sovereignty. I fought in their wars, I nursed foster children, I whispered promises of bliss into their dying ears.

I was revered, before, when I was more, when I was core.

Each day I became less, as gold eclipsed my copper, hatred dimmed my light, and privilege surmounted my birthright.

Crying, I climbed the highest pedestal, I shone over unwilling eyes.

Unnoticed, I became an icon—but a mother no more.

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Isa Ottoni

Isa Ottoni (she/her) writes fiction with a spark of magic and fantasy with a spark of reality. She believes fantasy is what makes life fun, and that is a hill she is ready to die on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D. L. Lewellynabout a year ago

    Beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.