Poets logo

Longing

by Isa Ottoni

By Isa OttoniPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5

The wind brings his scent across the sea, carrying memories lost in ocean foam. He left with my heart to sail unfamiliar waters — left me heartless upon this sandy shore.

Perched on a boulder, I watch the horizon and long for his return.

My newly found legs ache from idleness. The tides inside my heart crave the deep I have forsaken.

He told me to stay, I promised to obey.

I bargained my body and my soul for his love.

I cannot move away. I cannot move at all.

The wait is all I have.

And wait I shall forevermore.

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreakFableShort StoryFantasy
5

About the Creator

Isa Ottoni

Isa Ottoni (she/her) writes fiction with a spark of magic and fantasy with a spark of reality. She believes fantasy is what makes life fun, and that is a hill she is ready to die on.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Solfyreabout a year ago

    Great work, Isa!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.