Poets logo

Letter To Her

By K. Exum

By K. ExumPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

This year was what it was. In my personal life, I experienced a loving friendship that felt like one wanted more than the other. Then I experienced a feeling like heartbreak, I guess. Where the feelings for one disappeared out of thin air. Anyway, let’s just let the poetry speak for itself. Enjoy and Happy New Year’s Eve.

Letter to Her:

Sometimes I wish I never met you

It’s like I fell in love with the idea of you

I thought the pics of you was enough

But in person you was adorable

I liked how you adored me when I didn’t even like my reflection

In a little time you became my best friend

The emotions you made me unlock to write a masterpiece like her

I never thought I would write a love piece, but you made that possible

For that I will forever rock with you

But we fell out

Sometimes I think it’s because you had love for me

But I only seen you as a bestie

They always say love is strong but lust is even stronger

In my head I knew staying around just for pleasure would be even more wrong

How could I become the men that tried to groom me?

No, I got to be better

I became distant when love and lust no longer looked alike

I can’t lie

Like I didn’t enjoy your company

I’ll always be one phone call away

When you need a shoulder to cry on ,

I use to check up on you weekly

But I knew you missed us speaking

We both said we don’t want a relationship

But we know we didn’t act like it

FaceTime calls till 2 in the morning

I’m talking while you falling asleep and then I all I hear is you snoring

Right before you hit mute

Man that stuff be so cute

Late night car rides

Was such a vibe with no music

We just listened to each other voice

Call each other besties but we stayed kissing on each other lips

I was older, but you was experienced

I can’t lie like you didn’t teach me some things

But I’m a fast learner

2 finger combo look kinda like a burner

Not even 2 minutes before you started bussing

You felt embarrassed, but I just started blushing

As blood started rushing down ,

Do I really wish I never met you?

I don’t know really, I’m just vibing

Vibing to the memories that we shared

My favorite moments are when I took your air

But when lust and love started looking clear

I started thinking about all the things I didn’t like

For instance, I’m a low key type of guy

And you out here telling these people about me

And I don’t even know these people

All bad things like we didn’t have pleasant moments

Letting them insult me

Man, I guess that’s where that age started showing

Then you wanted the girlfriend lifestyle, but I been said I wasn’t into that life

I thought we had an understanding

I said I wasn’t ready

I can tell that disapproval weighed heavy

You always seemed like you was putting your past dude’s weight on my shoulders

That was a weight as heavy as a bolder

I don’t know what they did or thought of you, but I know it was enough to weigh your confidence down

That’s something I wished I could have seen more of

But I can’t put the blame all on you it was times when I tried to hide a message instead of being blunt

Told you in the beginning I wasn’t ready financially or mentally

I remember you took that jokingly

Laughed at the words that came from my mouth

Like I was telling a joke

But I will not mope

Not ready financially Means no money in my pocket

You want to see a movie but my pockets is empty

You want me to take you out to eat but I don’t have nothing to feed you with

Get it?

Mentally I’m not ready

I still have my days when depression is weighing heavy

My biggest fear is lashing out on someone I care about

I’m just vibing don’t even know if this is going out

Still, this is my letter to her

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

K. Exum

Blogger, Poet, and Author from Landover, Maryland. Author of The Story Of Charles Levi on Amazon. Multiple spoken word singles and a project on streaming platforms. Check out my blog www.piecesofk.blog Follow my IG & X @thtstonedpoet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.