Poets logo

Letter 09/03/21

09/03/21

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Letter 09/03/21
Photo by Katie Gerrard on Unsplash

09/03/21

Dear Unnamed,

I love you and I miss you, but I am still angry with you. You killed yourself 5 and a half years ago now. You left us. You left me.

I hate being angry with you. It feeels disrespectful to be angry with someone who is dead and can’t defend themselves. I would say I shouldn’t be angry, but I’m trying to remove “should” and “shouldn’t” from my vocabulary like my therapist. But should and shouldn’t aside, how I feel is how I feel, and I feel angry.

I know maybe it’s not fair to be angry with you. I know you wouldn’t have left us if you felt like you had any other choice. I know you must’ve felt trapped and alone to get to that point. I know how it feels. I know what it feels like to be alone and trapped in your own head and feel like a burden. But I was always there.

I know maybe that doesn’t mean very much because I was a child or your granddaughter or whatever reason you had. But I haven’t been a child in such a very long time— not really. Or maybe you simply felt like a burden and didn’t want to ask for help, but I would’ve dropped everything for you.

I’ve wanted to kill myself more times than I can say. I fooled myself into believing it wouldn’t hurt anyone. Then you chose to leave me and taught me I was an idiot if I thought it wouldn’t hurt anyone. As much as I want to die a lot of the time, I don’t think I’ll ever kill myself because I love them and respect them enough to not hurt them like you hurt me and dad. I think that’s why I’m angriest— because I feel like you must’ve not truly loved us if you were willing to hurt us in the way you did. But I still love you and always will.

Love,

Yours

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.