Poets logo

Letter 08/27/21

08/27/21

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Letter 08/27/21
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

08/27/21

Dear Unnamed,

I believe in you, and that’s more faith than I ever thought I’d ever have. Because of that, I suppose you could say that you are the pure definition of faith. Basically, I mean I trust you.

It’s hard to trust people. Well, in a way. See, when I trust and love, I jump all in. I give my all, and I dive in too fast. Most of the time, this leads to a broken me.

But I trust you with my heart. And what’s more is: I trust you with my soul. I feel safe with you and trust you not to stomp on my heart or kill my soul..

Maybe it is foolish to give my soul away so willingly. It’s just that I know no other way to live. I wear my heart on my sleeve for all to see and touch. And I trade my soul for love like it’s its own currrency. And maybe in a way, it is.

I love like this because any less feels wrong, like I’m not doing enough, like I don’t care enough. So I give my all and hope for the best. Sometimes I wish things were different, but mostly I am content.

Off topic, but have I told you that you make me want to write poetry? The issue is I get tongue tied and pen tied and my brain freezes and forgets everything but the words “I love you,” and how your hand feels in mine.

But you make me want to write, and sometimes I think that’s enough. I think it’s because you make me feel whole. I’m missing so many parts of myself because I trade them away and so many of those pieces have died with their new owners. But you make me feel like they’ve all been returned, whole and shiny. So, thank you for showing me faith and trust and love.

Love,

Yours

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.