Poets logo

Leave Brittney Alone

prolly me too...

By Brenton FPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 2 min read
9
(C) Hoolywould

Britney Spears is on the radio

i think she did it again

but then who am i to judge

i don’t know where she’s been

i approach the record player

with trepidation

as the creeping tendrils

of the LSD tab

(yeah i know i shouldn’t but a bloke needs a hobby)

i took well over fifty five minutes ago

the beer and pizza dinner

may retard transfer a smidge

but you get that on the big jobs

(i have no idea - i'm approaching the balls ok!)

seeps through my various systems

it find pipes

that weren't even plumbed

like a movie antidote

all bright and fizzy and green

in varying states, degrees

and intensities

if i let my mind be at the peace

on the level it is meant to be

if i relax enough and not power my thoughts

i can see things beyond

the realm of merely seeing;

i can see through my skin

and the skins of

my endless selves

from now until extinction

from now until the end

straight through

like faded translucent parchment

i can wander away

i can see stars born and die

like an organic fireworks show

Pink Floyd:

Animals

it lets me know

it lets me stay in check with

parts of the me from the past

yeah that guy

i let him stick around

purely as a learn-ed advisor

so much is going on ever so slowly

i approach headlong

an anxiety others avoid

like the plague

there is a calm in my chaos

my boat it rocks yes

but

i am so fucking alive in this mess

i seem to revel in the negative

(by whose standard?)

but it’s no way to make a living

the dogs have howled

the sheep have run

the pigs have flown

Vivaldi - The Four Seasons

no Fall in sight

dulcet and subtle tones

my evening approaches

mid point on a clock somewhere

my is is like one of them

got no shiz

why would i be thinking

of Julia Stiles;

now?

Billy Joel – Glass Houses

what the fuck?

i’m gonna enjoy this weekend

for a change

all these fake feelings

bubbling from my skin

and running from my eyes

all these chaffed peelings

rumbling from within

it’s just me, my mind and myself

and not one of us

should be left alone

not without a biro

not without a pen

not without a piece of paper

and a sense of where and when

came into this world kicking and screaming

came into this world umbilically strangled

and this real thing

this feel thing

this deal thing

has always been

as close

as fragile

as the heart beat

after the next

close and anxious

a breath away

a breast away

a test today

a game to play

i can feel my intestines

revolt against this wedge

i have inserted into this version

of this reality

into this world

the only one i know

it is now this very world

to which i now

have exposed myself

baring myself from atoms to flesh

and here i am

going forward

looking out my back door

all to willingly

it didn’t take much

to convince myself

i think i am happy

i have found my gods

and this peace

is the one i have made

fact or fictionsurreal poetry
9

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    I really liked the different intensities that this poem had! Fantastic work!

  • A. Lenae8 months ago

    This felt like a night you never want to end, with downtown speakeasies and self-acceptance. Uninhibited and intimate. And the verse about seeing through the skin of your different selves - you have such a great, true, voice. Beautiful.

  • Andrew C McDonald8 months ago

    What was that about Abby Somebody or Other? I thought she was left in that crosswalk.... painted beneath the lines as a troop of Beatles marched over her grave. Seems Normal enough. ... This is so twisted, yet so relatable.

  • Andrew C McDonald8 months ago

    FRIDAY NIGHT I CRASHED YOUR PARTY... SATURDAY I SAID I'M SORRY... BRITTNEY CAME AND GOT TRASHED OUT AGAIN .... Gotta love those glass houses. Lol. Fantastic job once again Brenton.

  • There is so much in here...I felt I was on a ride. Great job, my friend, what an adventure your mind is

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    This is bloody marvellous fun. So strange is your mind, but it makes a lot of sense, oddly. Well done, Brenton on the grins this gave me and chin stroking. Lots of great references too. but...50 LCD tabs? lol

  • Haha 😂 This is Great and they need to leave Brittany Alone Lol 😆…📝👌

  • Joelle E🌙8 months ago

    Omg… im sorry but the title alone made me so happy… lol, nice one brenton!! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.