Poets logo

Leave and Live with It

Might as well let go of what you can't have.

By Amy ReincarnatedPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

What is it?

Is it my natural hair, or my lighter complexion? Is it my more favorable features, or the curve of my figure? Is it the way my eyes light up, or the way my smile brings joy?

Maybe it's the way people feel my presence when I enter a room; or the way they are naturally attracted to me. The way I can stop them in their tracks and spark a marvelous sense of wonder and curiosity.

No. What you don't like about me, is the way his heart skips a beat when he sees me. The way he smiles when he thinks about me. The tone of his voice when he says "I love you" to me. But, more so than anything, you hate that you lost him, and he found me. How you will never again know the passion in his heart and soul, or feel the embrace of his loving arms. How you have his kids, but I have his heart.

I am The Chosen One. And you, at most, are The Plan B.

Funny how that worked out. I have your dream life; and you, will only ever have your memories.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.