Poets logo

Learning to Fly

Love gives you wings

By Dana StewartPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
19
Learning to Fly
Photo by mwangi gatheca on Unsplash

I like spiders and I don’t mind mice

Neither one of these give me a fright

Climbing a ladder will make me think twice

My blood shutters and shivers, such a sight

🕷️

I like the wind and the view looks nice

Neither one of these give me a fright

Climbing a mountain makes me think twice

Just thinking about it keeps me up until Midnight

🕛

I like airplanes and a really tall building

Neither one of these give me a fright

I could never be a pilot for a living

Blindfolded though, I might

✈️

By now you think I have a fear of heights

Describing the altitude isn’t the content

What I describe that gives me frights…

what really scares me most is the ascent

🪂

Love doesn’t go up

First, you’ve got to fall

Take a gigantic leap, one big gulp

Then you’ve got to bounce, like a ball

🎾

I like kisses and I like hugs

Neither one of those give me a fright

The right love is a like a drug

A compromise of toes in the sand tonight

❤️

Thank you for reading! This is for Real Poetic's Mini Challenge to write a poem about your greatest fear.

love poems
19

About the Creator

Dana Stewart

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Hmmmm. I suppose depths are scarier than heights, and impact is scarier than falling 🤔

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    This is an awesome poem 💗

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    So true about having to fall! Wonderfully done, Dana. Love it! 💕🙂

  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    I read this earlier in the week during one of the days I could not sign into Vocal to leave comments. Wanted to make sure I came back to it. It is the falling that is the scariest whether it be falling in love or down a mountainside. Well down a mountainside might be worse - lol.Great job ♥️

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    I love this so much, Dana. It's so true that we fall in love only to (hopefully) go up! Also, if we don't go up, we have the opportunity to learn from our mistakes. I love the way you expressed your fears here :)

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Simply Brilliant! I love it!

  • First I gotta fall? No thank you hahahahaha. Loved your poem!

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This is perfect. "First, you've got to fall." is such an apt description of life.

  • ema9 months ago

    I love your poem! "Love doesn’t go up / First, you’ve got to fall" is a great truth!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    The cover pic gave me virtigo. This was a really great poem.

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    beautifully depicted fear, loved reading it!

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    D - I have Coulrophobia - Fer-Real J

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Great title, and the poem did not disappoint! I'm guessing you stay away from some rides at amusement parks. I used to love roller coasters. Not sure what happened but I don't ride them anymore, lol.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Well said!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    So many wonderful & beautiful lines!!! Fabulous poem & loving it!!!❤️❤️💕!

  • Awesome 👍 Dana, I enjoyed reading your piece ❤️💯

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Ladders scare me too!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.