Poets logo

Laughter No More

A Poem

By Hennessie BrownPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Laughter No More
Photo by Edward Cisneros on Unsplash

I can never understand the horror of losing a child suddenly. Especially when sending them off to school, expecting them to come home safely, to only learn their precious little life was stolen from them. This poem is only my interpretation of how I would feel in this situation, not that my feelings even come close to what those parents and families have felt.

L is for Laughter, that use to fill my house.

M is for Maniacal laughter, that my child belted out as they were able to scare me or pull a trick on me.

N is for no laughter.

O is for Omission of laughter because I can no longer laugh.

P is for the Pitter patter of the feet I can never hear again.

Q is for the eerie Quietness that surrounds my house.

R is for the Rest that my child now must take.

S is for Stop the ability of those who are under 25 from getting access to guns.

T is for Tough Regulated Gun Laws. I’m not wishing for your right to carry guns to be taken away just the right to make sure children are protected.

U is for the Universal thinking that everyone needs to carry a gun must at least be the age of legal drinking.

V is for the Victorious day that I hope will come when we can raise the age limit to carry guns.

W is for the Wariness of Gun owners believing their rights will disappear, no I just want a well-regulated law per the 2nd Amendment.

X is for Xylograph as the words carved in a tree may the image of the young ones lost be forever carved in your hearts.

Z is for the Zen that we will feel, knowing at least this country can agree that although we know this won’t stop all mass shootings, at least we acted as a governing body to ensure we did what we could.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hennessie Brown

Sarcastic to the bone. However, you can't tell it from the stories I write. I'm a bigger lover of love, GOD, love and my children.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.