Poets logo

Last At Bat

The Final Inning : Heartfelt Poetry / Cancer

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Last At Bat
Photo by Joey Kyber on Unsplash

Last At Bat

Last year I was playing baseball

Run in the yard and down the hall

Mess up my room, fix some lunch

Go to school to learn a bunch

@@@@

After school I’d shoot some hoops

Summers camping with scouting troops

Then Big C set up his shop

Trot a few feet and have to stop

@@@@

Order jumped ship, Chaos followed

Sunken eyeholes, skull hollowed

White coated docs prodding at me

Xray techs, chemotherapy

@@@@

I lost my hair a bit at a time

So my friend Joe made up a rhyme

About a boy went bald too soon

Got sunburned head if out at noon

@@@@

Hairless old boy, ain’t I a beaut

Wonder if Linda would say I’m cute

If only I could have a single kiss

Her smile is what I mostly miss

@@@@

Linda’s doing her cheerleader thing

Wonder if she’d have worn my ring

Tommy will probably ask her out

Face in pillow, scream and shout

@@@@

Kick my feet and cry just a bit

Mama would call it a hissy fit

Daddy tries to act all strong

I know he thinks he’s done wrong

@@@@

I hope he knows it’s not his fault

My love for him will never halt

Now I lay here in a hospital gown

Trying to smile as nurses frown

@@@@

Tried my best to pray for strength

On my knees for hours at length

God hasn’t answered me or Mom

Except with the big old cancer bomb

@@@@

Pain and fear they worm inside

Deadly cells in my marrow hide

Slithering deep into your guts

Rot and pestilence dig out ruts

@@@@

Pity and worry are all I see

When my friends look at me

I know they’d rather be out at play

Than in this hospital with me all day

@@@@

I try to tell them it’ll be all right

Though it gets harder not to fight

Please Mom, just send them home

Let them be outside to roam

@@@@

No need to try to give false hope

Fate tied a noose with my rope

Soon I think it’ll all be done

Barely walked, I’ll no more run

@@@@

Just fourteen and barely started

Yet soon from life to be parted

All I wanted was a chance at life

To love another, take a wife

@@@@

Cancer doesn’t care about fair

Young or old, here or there

Yes Dad, I know it’s not the same

But can’t I have one more game

@@@@

Take me out to the old ball park

I’ll round the bases till it’s dark

Get my glove and toss a quick pitch

My last ‘At Bat’ then on the bench

@@@@

Afterwards try not to feel real low

Just hold my hand, Mama, when I go

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Williamson2 years ago

    Sad, yet hopeful. This is do deep. If ever you’ve known a child with cancer this poem is a must read. It seems simple on the face of it, yet there are real depths here. Great work. Please write more.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.