Poets logo

Lancelot

monologue

By Jamie DykePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Lancelot
Photo by Cederic Vandenberghe on Unsplash

Son of King Ban of Benwick

Son of Queen Elaine

Both of which I never knew–

I raised by the Lady of the Lake

She stole me and

Raised me in an underground world

I was known as

Lancelot of the Lake.

I quickly learned how

To fight and developed many skills

In arms.

So great was I that

I was soon dubbed

A knight on St. John’s Day.

It wasn’t too soon that I was

One of the finest knights of all time.

Once I was beckoned to fetch

The beautiful Guinivere

To marry Arthur on their wedding day.

All too fast we fell in love

And neither of us resisted it.

I started to sweat at night

Because of my guilt

And decided that I must

Pursue another quest

In order to get away

From dear Guinivere.

I could no longer stand

Being unfaithful to

King Arthur, who trusted me.

Quest after quest I pursued

Along with my son, Galahad.

We went far and wide

Even searching for

The Holy Grail.

I began to realize

That nothing exceeded my love

For Guinivere.

Not even my love for God.

That is why I returned to her–

Why not?

If my life must be

Miserable

Then at least let me be with her...

performance poetry

About the Creator

Jamie Dyke

I just like to write

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jamie DykeWritten by Jamie Dyke

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.