Poets logo

Lament for Love

Wanting something so badly that you can't see what you need has already found you.

By PK RankinPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

My heart is heavy laden, burdened with a longing for the things that I cannot have. The silken feel of a lover's touch, the sweet melody of her voice calling my name. Cannot? you ask, and why is that.

I know this to be true for my eyes are blinded to the language of her movement. My heart is hardened to the beckoning of her soul. My mind is dumb to the words of her mouth and all, at last depends on these.

It is a terrible affliction, I fear; one for which there is no cure. For although the depths of my love cannot be measured, nor the bounds of my love be charted, neither can I put forth these endless feelings in tangible manner.

Alas, I fear 'twill never be.

The one I seek might cross my path a hundred times a thousand. Yet I the fool in all respects might never know the truth. Might it be that I, languid in my living as I am in all respects, shall evermore be consigned to an existence of singular vacuity.

Nay, I think not. For even in the midst of my despair Love has found me out. Lighting on my shoulder and whispering into my ear that hope is not lost. It is only now, in the presence of LOVE itself that I realize the futility of my despair. It is only now that I can truly see the constancy of Love.

It is only now that my eyes are opened and my heart released from its bonds of stone. It is only now that my mind is freed from it's prison of ignoble character and set upon the wind to soar with the clouds. Sadly, it is only now that I can say with kindness and compassion that search as you may LOVE is not a treasure to be unearthed. In the final analysis it is an emotion of wisdom and purpose which seeks each of us in it's own time.

Love, my friend, will find you too if you will but be still and await it's coming. LOVE will find you out.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

PK Rankin

I am a father, husband, worker, traveler, philosopher, lifelong learner, and poet who believes that you can do anything you put your mind to. I am a lover of freedom, a respecter of life, an eclectic dreamer, and eternal optimist.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.