Poets logo

To Dad On His Birthday

From a son to his awesome father

By PK RankinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
To Dad On His Birthday
Photo by Robert Linder on Unsplash

Today is a day of Heroes when we remember the Harbor at Pearl.

Today each good American will display his flag unfurled.

We mourn the lost and praise those who remain and each of us recites a prayer 'twill never happen again.

That's the day outside this house in the place beyond our walls.

Another time does come to mind whene'er this day does fall.

We look back through the years to a

day not far displaced.

We celebrate the day when Grandma

gazed upon your face.

To those who do not know you it's another day at best, another fleeting moment in a world which knows no rest.

To most it's just another day, a good day at its' best.

Time marched on and burdens came, you bore them one and all. when fatherhood came much to soon you answered to the call.

No matter the sacrifice required

you made it without complaint.

No task could steer you from your course you never said I can't.

Steadfast in the face of life you've given without reserve and much to my dismay dear Dad you don't have half what you deserve. Still, you never asked for mansions or the yachts and autos fine. You've always given all you had to make this family shine.

I want you to know I Love you for your selfless care and guidance.

No Son could ask a greater man to build his confidence.

No card could say these words to you no gift I could find would suffice.

Dear father if it were in my power I would gladly grow up twice.

Me and Your Grandson

So HAPPY BIRTHDAY FATHER you have earned this day so well.

The worth of the gifts you've given

me no man could ever tell.

I salute you with my heart and with pride only a son can feel.

I thank the Lord for the friend I have; no man may ever steal.

I LOVE YOU FATHER!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

PK Rankin

I am a father, husband, worker, traveler, philosopher, lifelong learner, and poet who believes that you can do anything you put your mind to. I am a lover of freedom, a respecter of life, an eclectic dreamer, and eternal optimist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.