Poets logo

L.P.L

Put me in

By Rowan Finley Published 9 days ago 1 min read
Photo taken by cottonbro studio on pexels.com

“Stand out but blend in.”

“Be serious but keep smiling.”

“Be unique but not too off the wall.”

“Hurry up, to stall a little longer.”

“Keep breathing, but hold your breath.”

The clashing waves kept conflicting,

the mashing opinions continued tricking.

Change the degree,

and stay positive, for all to see.

Register for a course called Future,

as life wounds called for another suture.

They dressed for the day,

and shunned the complacent gray.

Standing, poised to be chosen,

but then they weren’t.

Tomorrow, they’d be back,

with less perfection lacking.

Stoic, with precision, they would stand again,

ready for the game master to tell them - when.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Esala Gunathilake9 days ago

    Wow it was such a masterpiece! Priya was right. That is mesmerizing!

  • shanmuga priya9 days ago

    Your poetry is mesmerizing...I liked it.

  • I often feel this way; do I be me, or tone done my crazy sense of humor? While some will enjoy my wise-cracking comments, others will scoff, so which way do I go? Yep, not only have I been there; this is where I'm stuck. Good writing. Love it.

  • Colleen Walters9 days ago

    Oh my gosh! It’s like you’re writing about me… wow, soooo relatable

Rowan Finley Written by Rowan Finley

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.