Poets logo

Known Women

A Love Story

By NaseebPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Cold and tired, I stand here frozen, looking deep into the eyes of this woman.

Eyes, I have only met seconds but feel I've always known.

Shivering, I straighten up my smile, fix my posture, and clear my throat, ready to show her a gentleman.

Below, my knees begin to buckle in weakness and thumping in my heart drums in celebration, feelings I have never known.

Beauty and perfection outline the configuration of this matron — a goddess among the presence of queens, unknown.

I can feel the heated speed of my mind gear up to speak of my fascination.

Trying to formulate my thoughts, order my words, and clear passage for this information.

I swallow my thirst, open my mouth, dripping in fear this is uncommon.

A whisper let's out, shallow than the loudest bird, unheard.

I try again, maybe this time I'll be heard.

Ready, "Hey honey! " a strang man interrupts, grabbing her steadily.

"We've gotta go!" he says, calmly.

Shocked by the reality, I look away humbly. Bothered by this melody, I can feel the agony.

Feeling like my heart was in the hands of harmony, then crushed by this complexity.

Hypnotized, she now stares at me, as he drags her away from me. Oh, I just had an epiphany.

I can't believe it, that man is running away with my soul mate, crushed by this honesty.

Leaves turn, seasons return, lessons yearn, I think I might have run into my turn.

Soaking up the Venice air and toasting in the sun, sitting there is my Madison.

Speechless, my sunglasses rise, and my eyes blink twice.

I scan her to match the blueprint of her former self, and it's precise.

She look's alone, why don't I aid, I think.

Decided, I sip my tropical watermelon one last time, put it aside, and head over to link.

We now sit at the wooden table, gazing fully at each other as if the keys of our souls have unlocked the chambers within.

Talking and talking, we talked until the sun swapped with the moon.

An aura of simplicity and ease carried the conversation, while a sense within birthed a bloom.

My trip turned into our trip, and a trip turned into a journey.

Our journey continued, leading us onto many, dinners, dances, and unforgettable moments.

However, nothing will top that night.

Cold and happy, I lowered my knee into a thick smush of snow, looking deep into the eyes of this woman I have all ways known and said......

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.