Poets logo

Mother's Words

Lessons Learned Too Late

By NaseebPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

To express is to feel and to feel is to express, those are the words my mother stressed.

The ability to feel is more powerful than the ability to see, she said.

Because only when you feel, can you see and only when you can see can you feel.

This is the key to life, she sensed.

At the time, this was too much for me to digest.

Too many layers of unanswered inquest.

Too little time to ponder over her silly zest.

Too young to understand my ignorant protest.

Gone now are the days of my mother's quest.

She lay's buried underneath the gravel, rest.

Oh! I wish I tried harder to invest.

A bit more time and thought into her request.

I now lay in this nest.

Waiting to pass on to the next.

Time really does flies, I guess.

Only yesterday was I a guest.

And I am now fleeing like rest.

If I am truthful, I am terrified underneath my chest.

For what the coming life or death has, a test?

I guess my message to you is to feel and then to express.

To Feel and then to see the wonderful life you enjoy at ease.

Don't suffer the painfulness of my test.

Don't follow the footsteps of my painful quest.

An Ignorance of a truthful pretest.

Only to find out you have hours to digest

An 80-year life with a swift zest.

So feel, see, love, and express.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.