Poets logo

Kitchen Reno

Choosing green

By Josie SpagoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Kitchen Reno
Photo by Artur Łuczka on Unsplash

All possibilities hinge on the color green.

Before floors, lighting, kitchen sink gauge (where less is more),

before committing to granite, leathered to the brink of Egyption cotton,

the cabinet must find its shade among the nine contestants currently striped

on the uppers, the lowers, the wall.

She says, no one will like a green kitchen.

She means, no one will like me.

But haven't I developed the skill to translate sound at the speed of light,

bending noise into affirmation,

asserting a sing-song bell when boundaries are breached?

She says, did you ask your friends what they think?

I say, this is my kitchen.

She says, what is wrong with a nice neutral gray?

And I say, I am old enough to choose brooding Hunter,

hazy, golden Peridot, True Green (so green, too green)

Irish Clover, one called Crown of Thorn.

Even those teals masquerading as greens are still in the running,

still on the table where I feast on greens

like celery tops, like feisty purslane, like rabe-

dark and bitter. I devour disapproval,

and eat my fill.

I am old enough to choose my green, and -

if I do so please -

accent her in wild-eyed orange.

how to

About the Creator

Josie Spago

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JSWritten by Josie Spago

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.