Poets logo

King Cold

“I Hate Having a Heart”

By Jahnari RoséPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2

The Curse of a heart that’s bigger than your brain is ever believing in someone else to care as much as you do.

Too much wasted time,

Too high of expectations,

Too much credit to the masses,

Too much energy that’s been undervalued,

How am I supposed to get anywhere without reciprocity?

The Games they entertain leading me around like a lost puppy looking for food,

Nothing less than a tasteless joke that only invokes an emotional winter in my soul,

I'm a lot more than your entertainment and respectfully I could've been cold and cruel,

I always chose to be good but now I see that will only stop me from winning in the end.

Should I choose to be arrogant and dishonest moving forward you lost the right to scold me,

With every open wound and knife that's in my back, I still would've stood over you to keep you from the rain,

Was it my fault when they lied so she would leave, she never came back when the truth came out.

Was it my fault when I was just a canvas for revenge, she projected everything that hurt her onto the one that wanted to help.

Was it on me when I stood in the raging ocean of shattered glass to hold her hand, she pushed me under and told me I was wrong to wall away.

Then I was just empty and tried to be open and walked all over the good thing, I couldn't see the good because I was still in pain.

I thought it was finally over and put all the pain into a pen and I tried to share it thinking that was how I would find healing, I ignored every sign until the pen was no longer on paper.

Silly of me to think that anyone would care enough to stab me in the back anymore there were already enough holes in it.

This one went straight to the Heart,

Even after it was Twisted and Turned,

The Bleeding couldn't stop and the pain was now silent.

I picked my heart up after it fell through the hole in my chest just asking for warmth,

I chased lights and fires I just didn't want to freeze.

I thought I was going to be given a chance I tried to patch myself up so I don't bleed into the flame but the fire began to fade.

This seems insane,

I gave my all every time,

I gave everything when I had almost nothing,

Even after it was gone I got it back,

I tried but now I guess that’s done.

I wasn’t always Selfish

I wasn’t always One-Sided

I wasn’t always Distant

I guess it was my fault for being insane enough to think it would ever be different.

Now I see nobody deserves the heart I have inside of me.

All you get now is ink and words none of which will ever remember your names,

I’m done playing these stupid games,

You treated me like a Demon don’t be mad that now I’ll act that way.

love poemssad poetrysurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Jahnari Rosé

“Do not explain your philosophy, Live it..”

I write about love, healing, and self-development.

I take most of my own photos.

I post work on Instagram @roze.writes25.

All written and approved for submission under © 2023 Rozeville, Inc

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.